ACFN holds general election at end of the month

Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation logo – ATC Website

The Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation (ACFN) is holding a general election scheduled for the end of the month.

The ACFN is looking to elect a Chief, four councillors, one elder member trustee, and three member trustees.

Voting can occur by paper and electronic ballots for the nominated candidates.

Advance voting will open Tuesday, Oct. 24, 2023, at 5 p.m. at the Stonebridge Hotel in Fort McMurray and the Charlie Voyageur Conference Centre in Fort Chipewyan.

Electronic voting will open at the same time and voters can visit the OneFeather website for more information.

Election day is set for Oct. 30, 2023, which will open at 9 a.m. for eligible voters, and close at 9 p.m.

The available voting locations will be:

  • Stonebridge Hotel – Fort McMurray, AB
  • Charlie Voyageur Conference Centre – Fort Chipewyan, AB
  • Uncle Gabe’s Friendship Centre – Fort Smith, NT
  • Nova Hotel – Edmonton, AB

Any member on the ACFN membership list who will be 18 years or older on the date of the election is entitled to vote.

Candidates for one Chief are:

  • Allan Adam
  • Raymond Cardinal

Candidates for four councillors for the two districts are:

  • Shane Adam
  • Shawn Blair
  • Jonathan S. Bruno
  • Donna Deranger
  • Florence (Flossie) Cyprean
  • Timothy G. Flett
  • Cody Marcel
  • Garrett Marcel
  • Mike Mercredi
  • Ramona Mona Pische
  • Teri Lynn Villebrun
  • Michael Deranger
  • Dwayne Sr. Flett
  • Colinda Laviolette
  • Hazel G. L. Mercredi
  • Kathy Roy
  • Mike Voyageur
  • Leslie David Wiltzen

Nominations for one Elder Member Trustee are:

  • Julia M. Cardinal
  • Patrice Mercredi
  • Mark Voyageur

Nominations for three member trustees are:

  • Tanya Adams
  • Rosanna Cyprien
  • Anthony Ladoucheur
  • Mark Tripe de Roche
  • Dr. Cora Jane Voyageur

More from 100.5 Cruz FM