Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation student receives TD scholarship

An Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation (ACFN) student has been announced as one of the 25 recipients of the 2023 TD Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples.

Jrayanna Voyageur has been named as one of the recipients of the scholarship and is also the only recipient from the ACFN.

The scholarship program is provided by TD Bank and Aboriginal Financial Officer Association (AFOA) Canada for students from Indigenous communities to provide financial support for post-secondary education.

Each of the applicants will receive $10,000 per year, for up to four years, to help cover tuition costs. An additional $5,000 per year, for up to four years, is provided to cover living expenses.

TD also offers summer internship opportunities to gain work experience aligned with the student’s career aspiration and even offers full-time employment after successful completion of their studies.

“I am very excited to be a recipient of the TD Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples. This prestigious scholarship award gives me the motivation to keep working hard in my academics so that I can provide my son and I a good life,” said Jrayanna Voyageur from the ACFN.

Voyageur is in her second year at the University of Alberta and is working towards the combined degree program. She says she will graduate with two degrees, a Bachelor’s of Native Studies and a Bachelor’s of Education.

“I would like to become a teacher and work back in my community of Fort Chipewyan,” says Voyageur.

“It is hard work, yet I am determined to keep going because I have the strength of my ancestors guiding me through my journey. I encourage all Indigenous students to apply for the TD scholarship for Indigenous peoples and keep going, don’t give up!”

The scholarship is open to First Nations, Metis, and Inuit community members who have applied to or are enrolled in a full-time, minimum two-year program, with an approved post-secondary institution.

Applications for the 2024 funding will open in September 2023.

The list of recipients* is found below:

  • Andrea Yellow-Horn, Piikani First Nation, AB
  • Blaise Arkle, Métis Nation of Manitoba, MB
  • Chantisse Smoke, Fishing Lake First Nation, SK
  • Chett Monague, Chimnissing (Beausoleil First Nation), ON
  • Cheylyne Murphy, Métis Nation of British Columbia, BC
  • Danielle Adjun, Kugluktuk, NU
  • Elizabeth Raine, Maskwacis (Louis Bull Tribe), AB
  • Hayden Yaremko, Métis Nation of Manitoba, MB
  • Jaden McGregor, Aundeck Omni Kaning First Nation, ON
  • Jesse Muckle, Witset First Nation, BC
  • Jrayanna Voyageur, Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation, AB
  • Justin Long, Métis Nation of British Columbia, BC
  • Kaitlyn Gaudon, Qalipu Mi’kmaq First Nation, NL
  • Katelyn Kalai, Coral Harbour, NU
  • Keyanna Hansen, Buffalo Narrows, SK
  • Kianna Bear-Hetherington, Sitansisk (St. Mary’s First Nation), NB
  • Lana-Maude Boucher, Métis Nation of Ontario, ON
  • Larashia Falcon, Red Pheasant Cree Nation, SK
  • Rebecca Kragnes, Métis Nation of Alberta, AB
  • Sasha Merasty, Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, SK
  • Sophie David, Métis Nation of Manitoba, MB
  • Sydney Allison, Oshkigmong (Curve Lake First Nation), ON
  • Taylor Campbell, Wikwemikong First Nation, ON
  • Tina Houle, Saddle Lake Band & Whitefish Lake First Nation, AB

*There are 25 recipients, however, TD says only 24 names were available for publication.

More from 100.5 Cruz FM