FMPSD Nominates Two Teachers for Edwin Parr Award

The Fort McMurray Public School Division (FMPSD) is announcing its nominees for the prestigious Edwin Parr teaching award.

Vyoma Vashi from École Dickinsfield and Lucas Clarke from École McTavish are this year’s nominees from the district for the province-wide honour.

The award is named after Edwin Parr, an educator whose passion for teaching led him to mentor and coach many teachers new to the profession. The award is given out by the Alberta School Boards Association to outstanding first-year teachers who have demonstrated excellence in teaching.

“Often, it is a very difficult decision to make as we have so many outstanding teachers deserving of this award,” says Annalee Nutter, Superintendent of Schools for the FMPSD.

In a news release, the FMPSD spoke of the profound positive impact the nominees had on students in such a short time.

More from 100.5 Cruz FM