Torchbearers named for 2023 Arctic Winter Games

The Arctic Winter Games Host Society is celebrating the community involvement and social impact of over 40 individuals by honouring them as Torchbearers for the 2023 Arctic Winter Games in our region.

The torch for the Arctic Winter Games will be carried in a relay by the torchbearers across the RMWB beginning Wednesday, January 11th in Fort Chipewyan and Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Landing First Nation.

The relay continues to Conklin and Janvier on January 16th, Fort McKay on January 18th, Anzac on January 19th, Saprae Creek on January 21st, and ends in Fort McMurray on January 28.

The opening ceremonies for the games are set for January 29th.

The Host Society announced the torch relay team as:

Fort Chipewyan

· Tyrell Marcel

· Angela Marcel

· Rayelle Marcel

· Matthew Marcel

· Kendrick Cardinal

Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Landing First Nation

· Demian Bourque

· Detonaze Paulette

*Additional torchbearers will be announced in January


· Alexa Cardinal

· Emile Winterburn

· Bobbie Brooks

· Tanis Robillard

· Shania Desjarlais


· President Raoul Montgrand

· Elder Marie Agnes Herman

· Lawless Herman

· Jessica Read

· Ida Stepanowich

Fort McKay

· Jayden Shott

· Adam McDonald

· Tayden Shott

· Alicia Gladue

· Cruz Fabian

· Adonis Richards-L’Hommecourt


· Riley Bourque

· Brooklyn Wiltzen

· Bear Croucher

· Presley Hodgson

· Rheimer Reid

· Kate Platt

Saprae Creek

· Stu Wigle

· Nicholas Bennett

· Jasper Harper

· Novella Haper

· Everett Harper

Fort McMurray

· Elder Anne Michalko

· Melanie Walsh

· Lucas Punko

· Ava Ryan and Logan Flett

· Darrel Laboucan

· Trevor Snook

· Dylan Elias

· Kelli Stewart

· Rachel Ivey

· Mattea Adair

“I would like to congratulate the outstanding torchbearers from across our great region. The selection process was difficult as we had so many incredible nominees,” said Jennifer Vardy, Rural Relations and Engagement Committee.

“Thank you to the 12 Indigenous communities of Wood Buffalo, the Catholic/Public/Rural Schools Divisions, the Multicultural Society, St Aidan’s Society, Pride YMM and the Athabasca Tribal Council for their guidance in the selection process.”

Torchbearers were chosen for their community involvement who are engaged with youth, sport, culture, or community.

More from 100.5 Cruz FM