Federal Government Bans Over 1,500 Models and Variants of Assault-Style Firearms

The federal government is banning over 1,500 models and variants of assault-style firearms.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced the ban on Friday as a way to combat gun violence.

Canadians won’t be able to use, sell, or import these firearms. A full list has yet to be publicly announced.

“Because of gun violence, people are dying, families are grieving, and communities are suffering. It must end,” said Trudeau.

“Assault-style firearms designed for military use have no place in Canada. By removing them from our streets, we will limit the devastating effects of gun-related violence and help make our country safer.”

People who already own these models must store them safely and can only transfer and transport them under limited circumstances.

There will be a two-year transition period to protect owners of these firearms from criminal liability. It will end on April 30, 2022.

The federal government is planning on introducing a buy-back program as soon as possible.

“These dangerous firearms are designed for the battlefield, not for communities, but have been used tragically to target women, students and worshippers because they are efficient in maximizing fatalities,” added Bill Blair, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.

The only exception under this ban is for Indigenous peoples who use these firearms to hunt and trap to sustain themselves or their family. They must find a suitable replacement within the two-year transition period.

More from 100.5 Cruz FM