Four FMPSD Students Named To Province’s Youth Advisory Council

Four students in the Fort McMurray Public School Division are being named to the Education Minister’s Youth Advisory Council.

Seham Ahmed, Aditya Ayri, Priyank Dave, and Fareedah Sadek are among the 40 students chosen across the province to provide input on educational issues.

“To have four out of 40 students on the Council from FMPSD is impressive,” said Doug Nicholls, FMPSD Superintendent, in a release.

“This shows the calibre of leadership being cultivated in schools. We are proud of Seham, Aditya, Priyank and Fareedah. These are FMPSD leaders, who will make us proud on the provincial stage as well.”

Sadek attends cole McTavish, Ahmed is a student at the Fort McMurray Islamic School, while Ayri and Dave both go to Westwood Community High School.

“We are constantly encouraging students to become active citizens and leaders in matters pertaining to youth,” added Cynthia Shelley, Westwood Principal.

“It is a tremendous pleasure to inspire students to be informed leaders and share their voice in ways that will impact a change for the benefit of all students.”

Council members will meet in Edmonton three times, once in October, February, and May.

More from 100.5 Cruz FM